About Women's Right To Know Law

Louisiana Law requires that providers of abortions in Louisiana ensure that their patients have all of the information necessary, including specific legal rights and options, to make an informed decision before they undergo an abortion procedure.

ACT 411 of the 2011 Regular Legislative Session, known as the Women's Right to Know Law, informs women while protecting their safety and the lives of unborn children in four specific ways.

  1. Any outpatient abortion facility will be required to post a sign in each patient admission area, waiting room and patient consulting room. The sign will outline women's rights and their pregnancy resources.

    • You can't be forced. It is unlawful for anyone to make you have an abortion against your will, even if you are a minor. In fact, forcing a minor to have an abortion is considered child abuse. If you are a minor being forced into making a particular decision, you can report it by clicking here or calling the Child Protection Hotline at 855-4LA-KIDS (855-452-5437). The call is free and the hotline operates 24 hours per day, 365 days per year.
    • You and the father. The father of your child must provide support of the child, even if he has offered to pay for an abortion. The Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) can help you locate your child's father and determine whether he is the father. DCFS can also help establish and enforce child support orders and collection, as well as distribution of child support payments. To learn more about Child Enforcement Services, click here or call the customer service center at 800-256-4650.
    • You and adoption. The law allows adoptive parents to pay costs of prenatal care, childbirth and newborn care. To learn more about adoption services and the organizations available to assist you, click here.
    • You are not alone. Many agencies are willing to help you carry your child to term and to assist after your child's birth. This includes access to health care services for mother and baby, supplies, healthy food items, nutrition education and in-home support.
  2. The informational signs must include a link to this website, which offers even more information on abortion alternatives so women can learn about medical assistance, pregnancy resources, free ultrasound services and adoption services available to them. Abortion clinic websites are also required to post a link on their homepages to this website.

  3. Abortion facilities are required to inform any person seeking to schedule an abortion about this website and other sites outlining the rights of mothers.

  4. This new law makes it so that any outpatient abortion facility that knowingly employs a non-physician to perform an abortion may have their license revoked.

ACT 569 of the 2014 Regular Legislative session also requires providers of abortions to provide to patients the Point of Rescue pamphlet, which informs patients about human trafficking, helps them assess whether they might be victims of trafficking and provides information about resources to help them escape from their situation if they are victims of trafficking.