Feedback

Louisiana Department of Health & Hospitals | Kathy Kliebert, Secretary

PrintRSSShareTwitterFacebookWordPressYouTube
Statewide Initiatives



211 - Get Connected. Get Answers.

Information About Death Records

The Louisiana Vital Records Registry maintains death records ONLY for deaths that occurred in Louisiana. If you need a certified copy of a death certificate from another state, you must contact that state's vital records office.

Under Louisiana law, death records are strictly confidential until 50 years after the year of death. Death records older than 50 years are available at the Louisiana State Archives.