
 
 

LOUISIANA VITAL RECORDS REGISTRY 
OFFICE OF PUBLIC HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HOSPITALS 
 

SERVICE FEES 
 
Vital Records Registry fees are set by statute and are subject to change during any Legislative Session.  They are not 
subject to waiver.  Most fees are enumerated in LSA - R.S. 40:40. The current service fees for Vital Records are as 
follows: 
 
 A $.50 state charge must be added to each mail or VitalChek order.  
 

 Certified Documents: 
 

Short-form Birth Certification Card   $  9.00 / copy* 
Long-form Birth Certificate    $15.00 / copy* 
Death Certificate     $   7.00 / copy 
Orleans Marriage Certificate    $   5.00 / copy  
Evidentiary Document     $ 10.00 / copy 

 
 Miscellaneous Services: 

 

Orleans Parish Marriage License    $ 27.50** 
Delayed Certificate (Filing)    $ 27.00*** 
Adoption/Legitimation/Paternity    $ 27.00*** 
Correction of Birth Record    $ 27.00*** 
Correction of Death Record    $ 23.00*** 
Putative Father Registry Certificate   $ 10.00 

 
* Includes a $4 charge for the Children's Trust Fund. 
** Includes a $12.50 charge for the Family Violence Fund. 
*** Includes one certified copy of the new record. 

 
Fees are payable by personal check or money order when placing a mail order.  A $.50 state charge must be 
added to each mail or VitalChek order.    
 
Cash, checks and money orders are accepted at all public service counters.   
 

Louisiana law specifically provides that in instances where a document order is placed but no 
record is on file, the fee shall be retained to cover the expense of the research [LSA R.S. 
40:40(12)].  A full record search covers the year cited by the applicant and two years on either side 
of that date.   
 
Louisiana law specifically provides that a non-refundable fee of eighteen dollars shall be charged 
for any correction of a vital event record  except corrections that are initiated by the requestor 
within 90 days of the date the record is accepted for registration [LSA – R.S.40:40(10)].  The fee 
is due at the time the document alteration request is submitted.  If the requestor abandons the case 
before the correction/alteration is completed or is unable to meet administrative or judicial 
document alteration requirements, the fee is retained to cover the cost of processing the case to 
that point. Inactive cases are purged after six (6) months.  

 
Mailing Address: Louisiana Vital Records Registry 
 P. O. Box 60630 

 New Orleans, LA 70160 
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